Archive centreWhitehaven
ReferenceYDS 10
TitleLillyhall County Secondary School, Distington
ContextLillyhall School was a newly-built county secondary school opened on 12 April 1961 to receive pupils from Distington, Lowca, Parton, Dyon and Moresby primary schools. As part of a general reorganisation of secondary school education in West Cumbria, Lillyhall School closed on 13 July 1984 and its pupils were allocated to schools in Workington or Whitehaven.
Related materialA minute book of governors meetings 1961-1984 is available in Carlisle via Records Management Unit (reference CSE 88006).
Catalogue levelFonds
Subject termsSecondary schools
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2020